Book Reviews

Otherworld Review

OTHERWORLD.jpg

Hey guys! Today I get to work with the awesome folks over at Rockstar Book Tours to bring you a review of Otherworld. Otherworld is a chilling new YA in the vein of The Hunger Games and Ready Player One. This fast-paced novel introduces you to Otherworld, an immersive new VR experience unlike any other. But as people spend more time in Otherworld, their humanity slips away, and we are faced with a chilling question- where is the line between virtual reality and reality?

Untitled-1

This novel follows Simon, a headstrong teen with a whole lot of street smarts and not too much respect for authority. When his ex-best friend/ girl he’s been in love with for years gets in a mysterious accident, she is placed in a beta testing round for an all-new treatment- Otherworld. While her body is damaged she will be able to explore the immersive Otherworld, a place where she can do whatever she wants. But as more and more mysterious things happen surrounding Otherworld, Simon begins to think it may not be the heaven everyone thinks it is.

This book was terrifying. And amazing. It plays heavily on themes of human nature and the opportunities of virtual reality, both of which can get very scary very quickly. The scary part was how well this novel captured the dark side of humans. If you’ve ever played video games, you know just how violent people can be and how dark their minds can get. In this novel, Segel and Miller explore what would happen if people were placed in virtual reality that had real consequences. And trust me, the results aren’t pretty.

The plotting of this book was exceptional. The way you can tell a really well-plotted book is when you forget that time is passing. I almost missed my class because of this book. It pulls you in immediately with great plot elements; a mysterious relationship, disappearances, conspiracies, futuristic tech, murder, and love. It has the scary government aspect of The Hunger Games along with the incredible VR of Ready player one. Somehow, this book still avoids feeling derivative. To me, that was because it also had a distinct vein of fantasy throughout, making it feel very different than most sci-fi YA’s.

One thing that truly stood out to me was the originality of this novel. The premise is familiar; tech gone too far, corrupt corporation, but the world Segel and Miller created was what really set it apart. Otherworld is dark and haunting but beautifully described. It reminded me of a nightclub, full of glittering gorgeous people, but everyone knows there are drug deals happening in the back. It was truly riveting.

This novel was a fascinating look at human nature set in a futuristic techie universe. I really enjoyed getting to know the world that Segel and Miller created, and I couldn’t put this book down. If you enjoy fast-paced, adrenaline-filled books, Otherworld is definitely for you. And I CAN’T WAIT to see the authors at Yallfest!

Final rating- 4.5/5

Thanks for reading my review, and until next time, happy reading 🙂

 

About the Book:

Title: OTHERWORLD

Author: Jason Segel & Kirsten Miller

Pub. Date: November 7, 2017

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Pages: 368

Formats: Hardcover, eBook, Audiobook

Find it: AmazonB&NiBooksAudibleTBDGoodreads

 

The company says Otherworld is amazing—like nothing you’ve ever seen before. They say it’s addictive—that you’ll want to stay forever. They promise Otherworld will make all your dreams come true.


Simon thought Otherworld was a game. Turns out he knew nothing. Otherworld is the next phase of reality. It’s everything you’ve ever wanted.


And it’s about to change humanity forever.

Welcome to the Otherworld. No one could have seen it coming.

Jason

About Jason:

New York Times bestselling author Jason Segel used to have nightmares just like Charlie, and just like Charlie, he’s learned that the things we’re most afraid of are the things that can make us strong…if we’re brave enough to face them. Jason likes acting, writing, making music, and hanging out with his friends. Sometimes he writes movies. Sometimes he writes songs for movies. Sometimes he stars in those movies and sings those songs. You might know him from The Muppets and Despicable Me. Your parents might know him from other stuff. Nightmares! is his first novel.

Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Kirsten

About Kirsten:

I write books.

Some of my books are what librarians call middle grade. (Kiki Strike, Nightmares!)

Some should be kept away from small children and people with weak stomachs. (How to Lead a Life of Crime, The Eternal Ones, Otherworld)

I write some books with Jason Segel.

I’ve written quite a few books on my own.

I’m an Aquarius.

My favorite food is cauliflower. (No joke.)

I will eat almost anything. And I’m weirdly proud of it.

I believe New York City is the most magical place on earth.

I love Dolly Parton and David Attenborough. Equally.

I cannot sing or play any musical instruments.

I’m obsessed with sewers and sanitation systems.

I once broke into a Mayan temple with my brother, Spike.

Spike is an alias. It’s not his real name.

I also have a sister. She prefers to remain anonymous.

We have the same birthday.

Yes, that sucks.

I think that’s all you need to know.

 

Website | Twitter | Goodreads

 

Giveaway Details:

 

3 winners will receive a finished copy of OTHERWORLD, US Only.

 

Rafflecopter link:

 

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/e2389ba2645/?

Tour Schedule:

 

Week One:

10/2/2017- Fiction Fare– Review

10/3/2017- Eli to the nth– Review

10/4/2017- A Gingerly Review– Review

10/5/2017- A Dream Within A Dream– Review

10/6/2017- Novel Novice– Spotlight

 

Week Two:

10/9/2017- Feed Your Fiction Addiction– Review

10/10/2017- Zach’s YA Reviews– Review

10/11/2017- Jump Into Books– Review

10/12/2017- Savings in Seconds– Review

10/13/2017- YAandWine– Spotlight

 

Week Three:

 

10/16/2017- Lattes & Paperbacks– Review

10/17/2017- Here’s to Happy Endings– Review

10/18/2017- Shelf Rider– Review

10/19/2017- Seeing Double In Neverland– Review

10/20/2017- NightlyReading– Review

 

Week Four:

 

10/23/2017- Lisa Loves Literature– Review

10/24/2017- Don’t Judge, Read– Review

10/25/2017- Cindy’s Love of Books– Review

10/26/2017- Bibliobakes– Review

10/27/2017- Book-Keeping– Review

 

Week Five:

 

10/30/2017- BookHounds YA– Review

10/31/2017- Book Briefs– Review

 

7 thoughts on “Otherworld Review

Leave a Reply