Book Reviews

Inferno Review and a Suprise

Binge-reading season… is now upon us. With the mounting stress of work and the dreary weather, there is not better relaxation than to read a book in one sitting. Is it tiring? Yes. Does it hurt our eyes? Yes. Will we continue? Definitely.

Thrillers are a great genre to sit down with. They read fast and keep your attention engaged for hours (We’re talking four or five at a time; I’m no rookie). If you haven’t read the Da Vinci Code yet, I very much recommend it. Dan Brown is brilliant at melding just the right amounts of culture, history, art, and action.

Today we’re talking about Inferno, the latest installment in Robert Langdon’s global escapades.  

After Langdon wakes up with amnesia in an Italian hospital, he is immediately attacked. He flees the scene with his doctor, Sienna, and takes refuge in her apartment, where finds a mysterious cylinder in has jacket pocket. It turns out to be a clue to a much more sinister reality even than assassins showing up to murder you in the hospital. 

Langdon and Sienna race through Florence to uncover a trail of art pieces, sculptures, and puzzles to reveal why he came to Italy and why the mysterious Consulate is chasing him.

For fans of Dante and Italian culture, this book is a tempestuous journey through the intricate underworld beneath glossy tourist attractions and fake signposts. I read this book – note that it is pretty long – over two days. I consumed probably a whole tin of tea bags, and a generally awesome time. Now here comes the surprise.

I got the chance to read an excerpt of the DAN BROWN’S NEXT BOOK!!! OKAY, THAT’S ENOUGH CAPITAL LETTERS I SHOULD PROBABLY CALM DOWN… I’m calm.

download

This next book is shaping up to be even better than the Da Vinci Code, which is my favorite in the series so far!

Kirsh, an old student of Langdon’s, has since become a celebrity for his futurist outlook and semi-prophetic ability to predict market trends. He requests a meeting with the three preeminent religious scholars of the world, revealing he has found a new technology that will shake the world of religion to its core. Later, Langdon is invited to a mysterious dinner at the Guggenheim Bilbao in Spain, where Kirsh is revealing a great project. The excerpt ends.

Origin starts right off the bat with modern art, religion, and a mysterious dinner. I, for one, cannot wait for this new installment. I recommend reading Inferno and the Da Vinci Code first, as they’ll give you a good background as we all eagerly await this next installment.

As usual, Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply