Book Reviews

Girls Who Code #3 Review

Hey Guys!

So I’m SUPER excited to share today’s post with you… It’s a review of the third Girls Who Code book! For those of you who weren’t here/ don’t remember, I reviewed the second one in the series here! I was SO excited when I got the email about the newest book in this series, and I’m so happy that I got to be a part of this tour.

Image result for girls who code 3

This book lived up to and even exceeded my expectations. It had all of my favorite elements of a midgrade novel- girls supporting girls, smart girls, and epic smart girl friendship!

I just can’t get over what a good thing this book series is. It’s exactly the kind of book I wish had existed when I was a kid. It tells girls that they can be anything they want to be, and that there’s no one way to be smart. The more I get to know the girls in this story, the happier I am that it exists.

Now, a lot of people on this blog tour are doing coding activities. I’m doing something a little different. Instead, I want to tell you the true story of what happened after I read the second book in the series. Back in October, I was TERRIFIED of computers. Their inner workings were inexplicable, and the idea of me doing anything other than going on the internet was inconceivable.

However, after the last book, I got this crazy idea. Maybe coding wasn’t so impossible. I got myself all the other Girls who Code books, did some research, and found an online course. And, to everyone’s shock, it was actually kind of amazing. And I did finish the course off with an activity: this website. I redid this whole website using my new skills. I’m so much more technologically competent now, and I can never explain how grateful I am.

So seriously you guys, pay attention to this book and to this movement. It’s really changing things for the better.

Final rating- 5/5

Thank you all for reading my review, and have a lovely week!

BOOK DESCRIPTION 
Girls Who Code #3Lights, Music, Code
Perfect for fans of The Babysitters Club and anyone interested in computer science, this series is published in partnership with the organization Girls Who Code!
Maya and her friends from coding club have an exciting new project: they’re coding lights and music for the winter dance! But when Maya’s old troublemaking friend Maddie moves to town, Maya starts spending a lot of time with her, and less time with her coding friends. Maddie just gets her in a way that her other friends don’t.

Will Maya get swayed by Maddie’s wayward ways, or will she stay true to her “permanent group” from coding club? And will she come through on her part for the light and music coding project? Maybe coding–like friendship–is about being there for your friends when they need you the most.

Crack the Code
 
Use coding to make your dreams come true in this fun-filled activity book published in partnership with the nonprofit organization Girls Who Code!
You might not realize it, but coding is everywhere–not just in our computers and phones. The video games you play, the animated films you watch, and the digital stopwatch you use–they’re all powered with 

This action-packed book with a two-color interior is full of word games, mazes, quizzes, and more–it’s your key to understanding how coding is used in robotics, arts & animation, sports, music & performance, and for social causes. You might even find inspiration for your next coding project!

BIOs:
Girls Who Code #3Lights, Music, Code
Jo Whittemore is the author of the tween humor novels, 
Crack the Code
Author: 
Illustrator

One thought on “Girls Who Code #3 Review

Leave a Reply